Discourse and Improvisation ON Entrepreneurship And…

October 17, 2006

Banner ads

Filed under: It's just business — dionea @ 9:23 pm

I’ve long suspected that banner ads are a wasted buy. Our customers are more technically savvy than I am 🙂 and I’ve been running ad blocking software for several years. My suspicious side even suspects that CPM (that’s cost per 1000 impressions) charges are based on page views, and don’t count blocked ads.

I tested this theory a while back, running text-only ads on one of the larger trade sites. However, the server was DoubleClick, so I didn’t see my own ads. Based on the response level, no one else did either.

I’ve recently been talking to another site about ads, newsletter sponsorships, and sponsored white papers (otherwise known as advertorials). After explaining my position about banner ads to the sales rep, she actually sent me the following survey results from her own web site:

48% block ads for all sites
13% block ads for sites with obnoxious advertising
15% block ads except for a few select sites
That’s 76%!

So I’m right after all.

But why is the sales rep giving me a reason NOT to buy?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

